A Message from our Board Chair

17 Jan 2024

A Message from our Board Chair, Barbara King

At the Can Too Foundation's recent Annual General Meeting, the following directors were re-elected: Barbara King (Chair), Ben Buckingham, Jeffrey Cohn, Sarv Girn, Andrea Tustin and Anke Timm. Sarv will continue to chair the Audit & Risk Committee and Jeffrey will continue to chair the Research Investment Committee. 

Ben joined the Board last year and brings a wide skillset including in law, management consulting, finance and IT. He is currently the Founder of an early-stage software company that helps corporates manage payments. He is also a passionate and long-term CanTooer who brings great value and heart to the Board. 

More information about our directors can be found at: https://www.cantoo.org.au/about-us/our-board.

We say a big thank you to Richard Evans and Victoria Turner as they step down from the Board, and acknowledge the significant contribution that both Victoria and Richard made over their many years of service. Richard's expertise in finance and fearlessness in his advice has been greatly welcomed, as has his fundraising skills. Victoria also applied her deep expertise in marketing to advise on the development of the new marketing and fundraising strategy. We are grateful to them both for their collegiality and sound advice.

The Board also wishes to acknowledge the outstanding contribution of Edith Hurt, one of the first directors of the Can Too Foundation around a decade ago, and who many CanTooers will know from her heartfelt support and participation in a wide range of programs, including the recent El Camino adventure. After stepping down from the Board, Edith shared her wealth of experience in medical research to give wise counsel as a member of the Research Investment Committee. Edith will be greatly missed as she formally steps away from the Committee but has kindly offered to remain as a sounding board and we look forward to continue seeing her as an active CanTooer.

Barbara King
Board Chair