The Can Too Community Spirit Awards

by Celeste Buckingham 28 Apr 2020

Thank you for celebrating our stars amongst stars

“Let’s celebrate everything that is amazing about Can Too and recognise some amazing examples of the Can Too spirit and culture within the community,” said Can Too Foundation CEO, Peter McLean as he opened the inaugural Can Too Community Spirit Awards ceremony.

View the Awards highlights video above that took place at the Occidental Hotel, Sydney on 27 February 2020.

The Can Too Community were asked to nominate shining examples of Can Too’s values in action – Inspire, Engage, Support and Empower. An overwhelming 180 award nominations were received.

As Can Too Founder Annie Crawford AM said the awards recognised the ‘stars among stars’.

“Can Too belongs and thrives because of you. You are the heart and soul of the community. You are its spirit.

“There are some people in this community, who have been nominated by you, who are able to shine a light even brighter than the normal light. Stars among stars who live and breathe the culture of Can Too,” said Annie.

Please see below a slideshow of photos from the evening.

Congratulations to the 2020 Can Too Community Spirit Award Recipients pictured below.

Pictured back row from left Mitch Dwyer, Simone Clucas, Mirek Craney, Sharon Head and David Head, middle row from left Rachel Spencer, Margaret-Anne Hayes, Laurie Ingleton, Matt Joyce and Kieran Gallagher, front row: Dani Lombard, Oscar Trimboli and Jennie Star. Absent Craig Dwyer and Louise Mackinlay. 

One of the highlights of the evening, attended by about 100 people, was to see Awards Ceremony MC, Kieran Gallagher, surprised to discover that he had won an award. See Kieran’s acceptance of his award and other highlights from the evening by watching the highlights video.

Can Too’s highest fundraiser, Margaret-Anne Hayes 80th birthday was also celebrated at the event. Margaret-Anne (pictured below) has raised over $250,000 for cancer research and prevention for which she was welcomed as a Can Too Honorary Life Member at the awards ceremony.

All the Life Members have completed over 15 Can Too programs, with the exception of Margaret-Anne who is a life member for her outstanding fundraising and David Head who has completed over 13 programs and contributed to Can Too’s operations.

Thank you to Can Too’s Life Members:

Barbara Allwright

Jenny Biggin

Stuart Binney

Marion Burrows

Lee-Anne Carson

Christopher Crawford

Julie Dobbie

Emma Doyle

Cathy Duloy

Trish Dwight

Niall Faber

Michelle French

Paul Green

Margaret-Anne Hayes

David Head

Edith Hurt

Laurie Ingleton

John Jones

Richard Keetley

Dani Lombard

Diana Masen

Anne Massey

Megan McCormack

Margie McMahon

Louise Miller

Anna-Louise Moule

Gloria Nicol

Natasha O'Brien

Kay Poletto

Lorenzo Poletto

Claire Robertson

Peter Signorelli

Katrina Smith

Jennie Star

Lianda Stoel

Julia Sutcliffe

John Thacker

Oscar Trimboli

Brian Whealing 

Congratulations to everyone who was nominated for a Can Too Community Spirit Award, please watch the video below to see all the nominees.

Pictured above: Can Too Community Spirit Award winners Jennie Starr, Oscar Trimboli and Matt Joyce.

Thank you to the Can Too community for your support of the first Community Spirit Awards.